Help Authenticating Pins?

Discussion in 'Disney Pin Discussion' started by DisneyPrincessKovu, Feb 19, 2021.

1. DisneyPrincessKovu

DisneyPrincessKovu Member

0   0   0

Hey everyone,

I'm not even sure if I'm posting this in the right place, so please redirect me to the right spot if this isn't it.

Anyways, I am fairly new to Pin Trading, and back when I started, I bought a small lot of like 25-30 pins off of eBay (which I now realize is a rookie mistake that I won't be making again!) back in April of 2020. As far as I can tell most of them look legit, but the more I think about it, the more uncertain I get about their authenticity. I'm just wondering if anyone could offer me some tips on how to authenticate pins?

Thanks!!

2. pretty Omi

pretty Omi Resident Smol Wolf

Rating - 100%
    28   0   0

So sadly, most of these pins will look legit to a new trader, but at least 95% of them are going to be fake, if not 100% of them. There's no specific set of tricks to tell, it's a combination of things per pin, and really takes a lot of time and experience to know how to tell the difference. Things like the back stamps, rough or smooth edges on a pin, enamel dips, the finish on a pin, the colors being off, and so forth.
    A quick Google search will bring up blogs where folks detail some of the tells, there's also videos on YouTube.

3. momin.ator

momin.ator Well-Known Member

Rating - 100%
    105   0   0

4. DecemberWishes

DecemberWishes New Member

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0

pinsbreaktheinternet on Instagram has several posts on confirmed fake disney pins. It's under their Reels section. I have found it very helpful!

5. TheMickeyMouseRules

TheMickeyMouseRules Cat Expert Mouse Authority and Paperfolder

Rating - 100%
    156   0   0