• Guest, Help The DPF Community Thrive - Join Our Donation Drive Today!

We're launching a special DPF Donation Drive to ensure our beloved forum continues to flourish. Your support is vital in helping us cover essential server costs and keep our community running smoothly — This is more than just a donation; it's an investment in the future of our community.

Join us in this crucial drive and let's ensure our forum remains a vibrant and dynamic place for everyone.

Please visit the DPF Donation Drive Thread for details and instructions on how you can make your donation today!

Cork Board for Pin Displays!! Yes or No ?????

Status
Not open for further replies.
Cork Board for Pin Displays!! Yes or No ?????

pin2pin1

Active DPF Member
Rating - 100%
111   0   0
I'm thinking about purchasing a cork board for my pins. I've never used one before. I really want to be able to look at my pins without having to pull pin books out. However, I do have concerns. Do the cork boards damage the needle on the back? Does the exposure to the air hurt them? I don't really open the blinds in my bedroom so I'm not worried about the light exposure. Just wonder if I could get input on the idea. Maybe pros and cons that I haven't thought of.

Actually, both are yes in my experience - over the years pin backs have gotten stuck in the cork and broken off. It's not terribly common but it happens. Also, air exposure damage depends on where you live. I found that leaving pins out on boards made them lose their shine and it couldn't be restored - not from dust but something in the air/humidity definitely affected the paint and the metal. I've also seen pins that have rusted over time and discolored. Although some of that was likely quality issues due to the manufacturing process and materials used.

I have 5 boards in a hallway and have never had any problems. They are "nicer" cork boards from Staples with a black frame. Of course, you must be careful removing pins so you don't break the post.